Mixtapes for Hookers


Life Update
May 16, 2012, 4:17 pm
Filed under: personal | Tags: , , , ,

I’m 31 now. Actually my birthday was on Saturday, but things have been slightly out of hand lately so I’m only posting about it now. It was a really good birthday, brunch at my favorite brunch place followed by an afternoon in the park and an evening at a Korean restaurant in suburbia, surrounded by friends and the bright lights of a karaoke room. (I sang “(I Never Promised You A) Rose Garden” and “Objection (Tango)” and “1 Thing” and “Come Out And Play (Keep ‘Em Separated)” and duetted on “Self Control” and “Black Velvet” and probably sang other songs, too, although right now I’m blanking on what they were.)

Otherwise I’ve been pretty busy trying to get my life in order and also trying to archive my life in a way that might be appealing to prospective employers and/or clients. Trying to find paid employment (ha! ha!) and also running my own side business is pretty exhausting, and on top of that living with my boyfriend/business partner in an apartment that’s smaller than my old place hasn’t left me a ton of physical space for writing here. Which is not the worst thing, although it is clearly a thing.

I’m feeling rather optimistic, though, about the year ahead. I’m doing a big reading on Friday, and have events planned for the rest of the summer. I’m also planning a photo project to occupy my spare time. I don’t want to go into too many details, but I finally found some inspiration the other day, looking at the work of Swedish photographer Aida Chehrehgosha. In 2008 she was photographing her parents in a variety of locations pretending to be dead. What I want to do is nothing like that, really, although I think it did provide me with a spark of an idea…

[image: Aida Chehrehgosha, Dad By Water]


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

