Mixtapes for Hookers


Their Name Is Stereo*Type With An A
August 8, 2011, 11:37 am
Filed under: music | Tags: , , ,

Today is Victory Day (formerly Victory Over Japan Day), a celebration of nuclear annihilation against that is still a holiday in Rhode Island and only in Rhode Island.  It’s a pretty ghastly reason for a day off, although I guess a Monday off in August is not the worst thing in the world, but it got me thinking about Japanese culture and about the visibility of Japanese-Americans in popular culture.  It’s a subject I studied a lot in college but haven’t really thought about much lately.

Anyway, a couple of weeks ago I saw Cibo Matto play in Boston.  I wrote a little thing about it, then left it to rot in my Drafts folder, but I thought today would be as good a day as any to bring it out again:

The other day I went up to Boston to see the recently reuinted Cibo Matto, who I hadn’t even realized were back together until about 24 hours before the show began.

What’s remarkable for me about this particular concert is that it’s the first time I’ve seen the reunion of a band that I actually saw the first time around.  In August of 1999, I saw Cibo Matto touring for Stereo*Type A along with Sean Lennon at the Met Cafe in Providence.  It was one of my first concerts ever and I thought it was awesome.  (What’s also remarkable is that my boyfriend was there, too.  We wouldn’t meet until years later, though, and our memories of the show are vastly different:  I stood maybe two or three rows from the stage and remember the show as being quite crowded, while his view, from the bar, is that hardly anybody was there at all.  I suppose that’s what happens when you ask an excitable 18-year old and a less-excitable 28-year old to compare notes…)

Actually, I not-so-secretly really like reunion shows, and rarely see any bad ones.  The Go-Go’s in 2001, Mission of Burma in 2002, Throwing Muses in 2003… Those were all really great concerts.  In fact the only stinker I can think of was last year’s reunion of 70’s punk legends The Avengers, which was pretty awful for many, many reasons.

The Cibo Matto reunion, which took place at the mysteriously named Brighton Music Club in Allston (not Brighton) Massachusetts, was great.  The audience was really into the show, singing along and (thank god) not singing along with horrible Japanese accents, the way that one might when singing along with CIbo Matto.  “Pass the Volvic!” yelled one man at one point, five or six songs after “Sci-Fi Wasabi” was over.  “Moonchild” and “Birthday Cake” and “Blue Train” were all wonderful, of course, as was the newer material they’re planning to release in some form early next year.  I think, actually, that this show may have been better than when I saw them in ’99.  They talked more between songs this time, and the whole thing seemed a little more laid-back (in a good way).


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

