Mixtapes for Hookers


My 25 Favorite Pop Songs By Canadians, Part 1

Happy Canada Day!

In honor of our neighbors to the north, here’s an impulsively-made top-ten list of my top 25 favorite pop songs by Canadians.  Loreena McKennitt’s “The Mummer’s Dance” isn’t one of them, but I thought that deserved special mention because remember when that song was popular?  Aiiieeee.

For the sake of your browser loading time I’m splitting this into three posts:

25. France Joli, “The Heart To Break The Heart” (1980)
“Come To Me” is her classic, of course, but I’ve always been a little more partial to the lead single from the Quebecois disco singer’s follow-up album.

24. Dragonette, “Take It Like A Man” (2007)
Dragonette, who are on the radio now, were a big part of my summer of ’07.  At the time I was more into “I Get Around,” but multiple viewings of this video have made me think that this is possibly their classic.

23. Snow, “Informer” (1993)
Yes, yes, I know.  But it’s so catchy!

22. Ashley MacIsaac, “Sleepy Maggie” (1995)
The nineties were so weird.  Like when the modern rock/alternative radio stations used to play Enya, and Natalie Imbruglia, and Pavarotti duets with Bono, and weird bekilted Nova Scotian fiddlers with lady friends who sang traditional songs in a folk-rock style.  This song is probably horrible, I have no doubt, but when I was fifteen I liked it so much that I can sort of still only hear it with those ears.

21. Bran Van 3000, “Drinking In LA” (1997)
My boyfriend has this album and still plays it.  It was another odd, odd hit on modern rock in the nineties, a sort of “Scooby Snacks” for boozebags instead of stoners.  The part where the DJ asks people to call in with the Bran Van guy’s favorite cheese is a highlight.

20. Finger Eleven, “Paralyzer” (2007)
Oh be quiet this is good.

19. Jane Siberry, “One More Colour” (1985)
Jane Siberry, who apparently goes by Issa now, is not what you might call a “singles artist.”  However, her 1985 album The Speckless Sky is one of my favorites for zoning out to arty eighties pretension.  The video is also something.

18. Hot Hot Heat, “Get In Or Get Out” (2004)
I thought Hot Hot Heat stayed good for longer than people gave them credit for (I like Elevator!) but this early song, which I first heard on some kind of British music magazine CD sampler, is still probably my favorite.

Part 2Part 3


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

