Mixtapes for Hookers


The Little Drummer Murderess
June 1, 2011, 3:57 pm
Filed under: music | Tags: , ,

I really, really do not like Rihanna’s hair in the video for “Man Down,” which premiered on BET yesterday.  But I really, really do like the single, which returns the Barbadian native to the Caribbean sound that she debuted with way back in 2005.  Not that this sounds anything like “Pon De Replay,” or that most people even remember “Pon De Replay,” probably, but “Man Down”‘s reggae motif, cliched though it is, just sort of feels right on days that are as barometrically challenging as today is.

While folks in some quarters complained about “S&M”–I for one still like it, roughly 1000000000 radio listens later–I’ve been extremely happy with all of the single choices from her Loud album.  I mean, except for “California King Bed”, which is a pretty terrible song.  But the concept is hilarious and I’ve yet to hear it once on the radio.  So, that’s not so bad.


1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I have accidentally fallen in love with California King bed. That said, I love artists like Mandy Moore and songs like Just Breath by Anna Nalick. I try to have great taste in music but I am stymied by my love of cheesy pop. Rihanna’s voice is amazing in that song. But yeah… it is a lotion commercial already.

Comment by Will




Leave a Reply

