Mixtapes for Hookers


Blah Blah Me Me Year In Review
December 30, 2010, 9:53 pm
Filed under: personal | Tags:

In September, I was sitting in one of my least favorite restaurants in Providence–the one that recently filmed an episode of Gordon Ramsay’s Kitchen Nightmares–and someone said something very important to me.  It was someone I hadn’t seen in a few months, and he asked me what I’d been doing with myself.  As usual when people ask me this question, I responded with a mumbled “oh, not much.”

“Well,” he said.  “Just because you’re not making any money doesn’t mean you’re not actually doing anything.”

And it’s true, Reader!  Very, very true.  I don’t know why it took me so long to figure that out.


2010 was full of busy un-/under-employment.  But some exciting things happened:  In the spring I co-organized a personal writing workshop that was well attended by a lot of people, including both rich old people and inner-city high school students!  In the fall I held a marathon reading of The Postman Always Rings Twice, which was not so well-attended but which was a lot of fun, anyway!  At some point I spoke on a panel about the value of a queer literary canon!  And I modeled with no pants on for a charity calendar! At other points I wrote three stories and read them aloud to audiences who didn’t particularly seem to hate them!  And I also had a story published in a book, a real book, for the first time.

And, of course, I launched Headmaster, which is far and away the thing I’m the most proud of.  Beginning as a totally vague notion in a friend’s apartment back in January, the magazine got bigger and bigger and fancier and cooler and now, at the end of December, Issue no. 1 has finally made its way out into the world.  And people seem to like it!  On Christmas Eve I sent a copy to one of my favorite writers in the whole world, and she wrote back the other day and said she loves it!  Loves, she said!  That made my day.

I also did make (some) money, though not as much as I would have liked, and I did spend many a Sunday afternoon in 2010 calling the unemployment hotline.  But I wrote about sex news for half the year, and for another part of the year I had a job that I’ve never told the internet about, even though I’ve kind of been dying to.  I also walked dogs and edited a book about the Cambodian postcard industry before 1940.  And for my birthday I got business cards made, calling me a writer, and actually did manage to snag a little bit of freelance work here and there, though not nearly enough to live on.  At all.

But I suppose that’s what 2011 is for…


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

