Mixtapes for Hookers


Sleigh Bells Tonight
September 15, 2010, 5:32 pm
Filed under: music, people from rhode island | Tags: , ,

The last show I saw at the old Met Cafe in Providence was Xiu Xiu, and it was crappy.  Between 1998 and 2003 I saw I don’t even know how many awesome shows there–Cibo Matto and The Queers and Ted Leo and the Pharmacists and Kristin Hersh and I don’t even know who else–but my last experience there was kind of boring.  I went because the drummer in the opening band was someone I wanted to sleep with.  Instead, I stood awkwardly with someone I already had slept with, who didn’t know anyone there except me and the drummer, whom he also wanted to sleep with.  And maybe had, even.  Who knows.

Anyway, Xiu Xiu was in that phase where it was just Jamie Stewart and his concertina thing, and it was very dreary.  And then the Met was closed, so the building could be condo-ized.

But it’s back!  Sort of.  At least, a new venue with that name has opened, though it’s annoyingly located outside of Providence.  The doors opened just last week.  And tonight I’m going to see Sleigh Bells.  Yay.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

