Mixtapes for Hookers


RIP $pread
August 24, 2010, 3:11 pm
Filed under: hookers, magazines | Tags: , , ,

This November marks the one-year anniversary of the change in Rhode Island’s prostitution law, and I was thinking the other day about writing a story to see what change, if any, the law’s had on Ocean State sex workers.  Obviously my first idea was to send the story to $pread, especially since I had just read the interview with editor Will Rockwell in Mother Jones last week.

So I e-mailed over my idea, but just hours later I found out, via Gchat status update, that $pread had just announced that it would be closing its doors after the next two issues come out.

I first encountered $pread when it was brand new, and someone was selling it at the Sex Workers Art Show merch table.  “I’d like to write for this,” I said, as the person selling it stated at me like I had seven heads, or maybe didn’t understand what a sex worker actually was.  In fairness, I was probably looking at him like he had seven heads, too, and also my social skills around strangers were kind of lacking at that point in my life.  I was brand new to sex work and probably didn’t even have a story to tell, anyway.

But that was a long time ago.  I’m very fond of $pread for a lot of reasons.  Because I’m fond of magazines in general, of course, and because they were the first (and, okay, only) national magazine to publish me.  And they were, I think, the first blog to put Mixtapes For Hookers in their blogroll.  But also because it gave a voice to a community that, six years ago, was almost totally misunderstood and ignored.  And it is such a large and disparate community.  Through the magazine, and the $pread blog, and the people that put Lord knows how many hours into volunteering for it, I have met and e-mailed and talked to a group of people that are genuinely empowering.

The official release is here, and there’s also some parting words here from Audacia Ray, who was the magazine’s executive editor until 2008.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

