Mixtapes for Hookers


Tuesday News

Hundreds of blonde Latvian women are marching through Riga in order to boost national morale.  No, really.

For the first time, gay activists staged a Pride event in Moscow that was free of police intervention.

The new Kylie Minogue video is a little too silly for my taste — as is the song, although that could always change — but what I really want to see is the outtakes where people fall from the pile and dancers accidentally whack each other in the face.

An Idaho strawberry farmer and father of fifteen has legally changed his name to Pro-Life and now he is running for governor.

Henning Mankell, the Swedish mystery novelist I was told I’d love but who I’ve yet to really get into, isn’t appearing at the Hay literary festival in Wales right now because he’s being detained by Israelis.

One cherry lemonade from Auntie Anne’s has as much sugar as 11 bowls of Cookie Crisp.  Articles about calories and sugar never really mean much to me,  but holy crap, that’s a lot of sugar.

If I had more time I’d write an essay about male and female film critics and their seemingly universal hatred of women over forty having sex drives.  Also their need to constantly refer to the characters in this franchise as gay men.  This is but one of approximately 10,000 such articles written in the past week and a half.

Michelle Tea is fashion blogging?!?!

Finally, nothing has made me happier this week than this story about how Negroni Season is a concept that only a boozehound whore would come up with.

[image: Patti Smith, from Michelle Tea’s essay on Just Kids and Ann DeMeulemeester.]


2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Would love to read your essay on the vitriol unleashed at the SATC movie. I mean, yes, the first one was terrible (and I was a fan of the show) and the second one looks even worse, but it’s overwhelmingly sexist.

Comment by Maria

It looks awful, don’t get me wrong, and I’m sure it is. But I don’t know why everyone feels the need to call them shriveled harridans.

Comment by mixtapesforhookers




Leave a Reply

