Mixtapes for Hookers


Meet My New Girlfriend
February 20, 2010, 7:22 pm
Filed under: music, tv | Tags: , , ,

Melodifestivalen is the competition by which Sweden annually chooses its entrant into the Eurovision contest.  It’s a big deal, with songs competing for dominance via a viewer voting system and really elaborate rules and rounds and wild cards and things I’m not actually invested enough to understand.

I’ve never followed Melodifestivalen closely*, but I do check the Swedish singles charts every two weeks or so** and the program has a pretty big weekly impact on the charts.  Last week I was pretty convinced that I would be rooting for Linda Pritchard’s Ricky Martin-ish “You’re Makin’ Me Hot Hot Hot,” because the title is irresistible and the almost “Mambo No. 5”-like percussion track makes me giddy.

But now I think I might have a new favorite:

Jenny Silver I don’t know who you are but I think I am in love with you!

“A Place To Stay” is kinda subtle for Eurovision, but it’s also really lovely.  Kind of a slow burner, if you will.  Additionally, there’s a silver glove thing, and her bottom half is kind of wearing a crown.  Go Jenny!!

(*Because there is only so much time in the day.)

(*Because there is so, so much time in the day.)


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

