Mixtapes for Hookers


Posting Note
January 25, 2010, 4:54 pm
Filed under: personal | Tags: , ,

I have good news and I have bad news, both of which might lead to a lack in posting over the next week or so.

The good news is that one of the Super Secret Projects I’m working on is progressing along nicely, and hopefully within the next few days I’ll be able to announce what it is.  But here are some keywords to tantalize you: penises, fancy, boys, asses, Providence.  You’re excited now, right?

In other good news I might start writing a column somewhere else soon; that’s not set in stone yet, but if it happens I’ll also be announcing it here in the next couple of days.

But there’s also less good news:

Last month my dad’s mother died after a long and difficult illness.  Since then, my grandfather has had three heart attacks.  He’s on life support now and it doesn’t look good.  The family decided to end the life support if he doesn’t improve significantly by Wednesday.

I have a lot to say about that–although I’m not sure I can articulate it all right now and don’t think this is the best forum for that, anyway–but I’m probably going to be with my family a lot this week and not blogging.

The other bad news is that I am still in total financial ruin.  I’ve mentioned that before–and every time I mention I get totally embarrassed about it (complaining about money isn’t classy!) but I’m genuinely at a loss about what to do.  It’s gotten to the point where I spend most of each day freaking out about money, where I avoid going home because I don’t want to see my landlady (who lives downstairs) and where I can’t make simple decisions about dinner without feeling nauseous and miserable.  Applying for jobs is just opening myself up to more and more disappointment.

I don’t want to devote my entire life to panicking about money.  But I also don’t know how to fix that.  I had a job interview on friday–my first in I don’t even know how long–and before it even began I was told that the position had already been filled.  I swear, It occasionally feels like the entire world is conspiring to torment me for being poor.

So, that might take away from blog-time too.  (And sorry to be such a downer.)


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

