Mixtapes for Hookers


New Year’s Day
January 1, 2010, 3:34 pm
Filed under: personal | Tags:

New Year’s Day is, by far, my favorite holiday.

There’s no gift obligations, no dressing up, no rigidity in terms of what you should and shouldn’t be eating, and no cultural or religious exclusivity (unless you hang out with people who use a different calendar system.)  You probably have the day off, but you don’t have to see your family unless you want to.  And unlike all those other Monday holidays off during the year, New Year’s Day has the distinct advantage of not being war-themed.

Also, and here’s I’m getting really hokey, it’s a really good day for reflection.  It’s a quiet time to have a talk with yourself, to think about where your life has been headed and where you want it to be headed.  I, for one, am really proud of a lot of stuff I did last year, but also realize that I spent far too much of 2009 on the internet and not nearly enough of it in real life.  I also realize that I have, to use a very grandmotherly phrase, “let myself go” quite a bit.  I realized this a couple of weeks ago, when it hit me that I don’t look at myself in the mirror before I leave the house.  I don’t like any of my clothes, and occasionally I find myself forgetting to brush my teeth.

That all needs to stop.  Now.

I’m very serious about New Year’s Day, not just for the resolutions thing but because I like the tranquility of it; even though my boyfriend throws a party every New Year’s Eve, and even though there were screaming drunkards in the house until 4:30 this morning, I woke up hangover and ready to go. Because honestly, I wake up with lots of hangovers all the time, especially around Christmas.  New Year’s Eve just seems like amateur night for partying, and I don’t want to start any year by puking up bourbon.

I have some New Year’s traditions, too.  I always take a long-ish walk (it’s always sunny!) and for the last few years in the afternoon I’ve put my hangover-weary friends down for a nap, lulling them to sleep with excerpts from The Portable Dorothy Parker.

New Year’s night is also prime film-going time; ten years ago today, I kicked off the new millennium with Magnolia, still one of my favorite movies.  And while I doubt I’ll see anything that good tonight (it’ll probably be either Up In The Air or Nine) I’m super-excited anyway.

That said, I’m going to delay posting my 10 favorite songs of the year yet again.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

