Mixtapes for Hookers


This Week In 1995
December 7, 2009, 10:36 am
Filed under: lists, music | Tags: , ,

My twenty-five favorite songs from this week in 1995, which I just found while looking behind my desk for a fallen camera charger. I was in my freshman year of high school at the time, as evidenced by the fact that this list is the gayest thing ever. Seriously. Elton John, Melissa Etheridge, the Indigo Girls and not one but TWO kd lang songs in the top 10. And a Bjork-written Annie Lennox song that I’m pretty sure I don’t recognize.

That said, I still like about 80% of these songs.

25. Folk Imposion, Natural One (NEW)
24. Oasis, Wonderwall (NEW)
23. Seal, Don’t Cry (NEW)
22. Indigo Girls, Bury My Heart At Wounded Knee (NEW)
21. Madonna, You’ll See (NEW)

20. Elastica, Car Song (12)
19. Hootie and the Blowfish, Time (14)
18. Bjork, Isobel (13)
17. Rancid, Ruby Soho (19)
16. Joan Osborne, One of Us (10)

15. Heather Nova, Light Years (16)
14. Alanis Morissette, All I Really Want (23)
13. Blur, Country House (20)
12. Melissa Etheridge, Your Little Secret (6)
11. Edwyn Collins, A Girl Like You (4)

10. kd lang, Sexuality (15)
9. Elton John, Blessed (9)
8. Sarah McLachlan, Dear God (5)
7. Tina Turner, Goldeneye (11)
6. The Rentals, Friends of P (8)

5. kd lang, If I Were You (2)
4. Annie Lennox, Mama (7)
3. Jewel, You Were Meant For Me (21)
2. Natalie Merchant, Wonder (3)
1. The Passangers, Miss Sarajevo (1)


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

