Mixtapes for Hookers


What Does One Cook When One Of One’s Favorite Writers Might Be Eating It?
October 22, 2009, 1:27 pm
Filed under: books, personal | Tags: , ,

451891665_0676c7ceff

I’m still trudging, slowly, through John Rechy’s memoir About My Life And The Kept Woman.  It’s not that it’s bad–it’s not–but I’m just not reading very much lately.  Mainly it’s because I’m online sixteen hours a day (I only woke up three hours ago and this is my sixth blog post) and when I’m not in front of the laptop I have no attention span.

But anyway, I just got up to the part where Rechy befriends Christopher Isherwood at a dinner party.  Which is something of a coincidence, since tonight I too plan to be at a dinner party with a wonderful writer.  Well, a potluck, but that still counts, I think. 

Sister Spit: The Next Generation is passing through Providence today and tomorrow; I’ll be missing the show itself, since tomorrow I’m skipping town for a wedding, but Michelle Tea–who is kind of my hero*–will be talking about personal writing today at 5.  And immediately after there’s a potluck.  I got all excited about going, and especially about having an excuse to cook something, but then I went into a panic.  For one thing, I slept until almost 11 this morning, which means that I’m way behind with everything else I was going to do today, like bathing.  And also I’m walking to the event, which means I need to leave in about two hours.  And I barely have any groceries in the house!  Unless I’m going to make orzo with nothing sauce, I’m kind of in trouble!  This may, in fact, be the kind of dilemma that real writers write their short stories about!

Anyway, I don’t have a car today.  Hopefully I will by this evening, though,so I can run up to Boston to see Broadcast play at the Paradise.  And then tomorrow it’s off to P-Town for my first-ever gay wedding.

(*I don’t know if I’ve ever told you this before, but when I really like a writer, I sort of try not to read too much of their writing.  This is because I have a completely irrational fear that everyone I like is going to soon die or go through some kind of creatively stifling religious awakening, and that at a later point in my life I will be distraught when I don’t have anything new of theirs to read.  I have the same policy for musicians and bands I like, which is why to this day I’ve still never heard Sleater-Kinney’s Call the Doctor, the Pet Shop Boys’ Nightlife, or Nelly Furtado’s second album.  My point is, when I say that Michelle Tea is kind of my hero, I mean I’ve read maybe 5% of the things she has written.  But they were all really good!  And I e-mailed her once and she wrote back and was very nice!)

[photo ganked from Flickr]


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

