Mixtapes for Hookers


Celebrate With Me
July 31, 2009, 6:57 pm
Filed under: music | Tags: ,

s_meiseil_sess2_(2)

Today Madonna digitally rush-released “Celebration,” the leaked single promoting her forthcoming best-of. Because I am bored, I compiled my own Madonna best-of today. I’m actually not even sure why she has another best-of coming out; at this point I’m pretty sure she should be doing a big box set, and it should be at least 5 CDs and come with lots of Santeria candles each depicting a different Madonna era. And condoms. But if I were compiling a one-disc best-of, it would include a mix of hit singles, forgotten favorites, album tracks and rarities. In Madonna’s case, there’s also lots of soundtrack stuff to choose from.

I’m not including mp3s of any of the songs, because, you know, I’d like to keep the blog open for more than five more minutes. But here’s the tracklist I came up with:

1. Die Another Day
2. Deeper and Deeper
3. Till Death Do Us Part
4. Causing A Commotion
5. Mother and Father
6. Sorry
7. Like An Angel Passing Through My Room
8. Don’t Tell Me
9. Dress You Up
10. Open Your Heart
11. Don’t Cry For Me Argentina
12. The Power of Good-bye
13. Angel
14. Human Nature
15. Burning Up
16. Crazy For You
17. Nothing Fails

I mean, ideally I’d also be including Papa Don’t Preach, and Material Girl, and Like A Prayer, and Ray of Light, and lots of others. But these would be my choices for a new (non-chronilogical) best-of compliation.

[Photo: Steven Meisel, 1990]


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

