Mixtapes for Hookers


Stick It In My Veins
May 17, 2009, 8:45 pm
Filed under: music, people from rhode island | Tags: ,

I just got the invite for my 10-year high school reunion.   I haven’t decided yet whether I want to go; I wasn’t very popular in school and live five minutes from where I grew up, so I’ve seen pretty much everybody at least once in the meantime.  I didn’t party with my class then and don’t think it’d be much fun now.  Plus Facebook has more or less filled me in on the details of anyone I kinda-sorta cared about.  But it could be one of those events (like weddings for extended family members and out-of-town friends) where you have more fun knowing that you’re never going to see anyone there again.

Anyway, I had my iTunes on random today and Blur’s Swamp Song came on.  An album track off 1999’s 13 album, it kinda defined the end of my senior year of high school.  Nine days out of ten it’s my favorite Blur song (although This Is A Low is a pretty close second.)  It’s loud and stompy and crazed and wonderful.

This fanmade video, featuring stills of the adorable Damon Albarn at his most adorable, was put on Youtube in January and the view count hasn’t even hit four digits yet.  For shame!


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

